Saturday, September 3, 2011

ZZ Top - Fandango! - (1975 Hard blues & Boogie - 2006 remastered version from the original tapes - Wave audio format)

After years of only being able to get the bogus remixed and re-recorded versions of the first 6 ZZ records on CD, Rhino has finally begun issuing the Top back catalog (Tres Hombres and Fandango so far) faithfully restoring the original mixes of these classic records. The fact that these fine records were altered to begin with is a complete travesty. I had to resort to burning the original vinyl as CDs because of the previous butchery and doctoring of these vintage 70's recordings. But now the original mixes are finally available and they sound incredible. I hope Rhino doesn't delay releasing the other 4 albums along with Deguello in original mix, remastered form. I can't wait to hear them. So if you are considering buying any of the first 7 ZZ Top CD's, only buy the 2006 remastered, original mix version of Tres Hombres and Fandango, and wait until the others get released in the same format. You'll be glad you waited and saved your money, I can't emphasize enough how terrible the previous releases of these CD's sounded.(By razzorjet2 - York, PA)


One of my favorite ZZ Top albums. The first 2 live tracks "Thunderbird" and "Jailhouse Rock" are great, but honestly the live 'Backdoor Medley' is a bit tedious.
Of the 6 studio songs there are 3 ZZ Top Classics: "Blue Jean Blues", "Heard it on the X", and "Tush". However, my all time favorite ZZ song is the obscure underrated "Nasty Dogs and Funky Kings". To me the entire disc is worth it for this one song. "Balinese" is another decent lesser known track on here. The country-tinged, tongue in cheek "Mexican Blackbird" is worth a laugh or two. As other reviewers have pointed out, definitely track down the original release of this CD, not the remastered version. (This is a rule that applies 99% of the time, by the way).(By SDJ)

ZZ Top - Blue Jean Blues

Tracks List

01. Thunderbird

02. Jailhouse Rock

03. Backdoor Medley

04. Nasty Dogs And Funky Kings

05. Blue Jeans Blues

06. Balinese

07. Mexican Blackbird

08. Heard It On The X

09. Tush

10. Heard It On The X [Live Version] [Previously Unissued]

11. Jailhouse Rock [Live Version] [Previously Unissued]

12. Tush [Live Version] [Previously Unissued]


Billy Gibbons : Guitar, Vocals

Dusty Hill : Bass Guitar, Vocals

Frank Beard : Drums

[Rip and scans by SILVERADO]

Click here (password is : phrockblog)

No comments:

Post a Comment