Friday, August 5, 2011

Focal Point - First Bite of The Apple (1967-68 uk, psychedelic pop with folk shades, kissing spell edition - MP3 320k and FLAC)

Keen Followers of the 1960s Rock scene have become used to tales of long lost tapes and unissued recordings that have seemingly disappeared forever. Every so often, however, a cache of "lost" recordings does surface.

In subsequent years, the finally crafted pop-psych of "Sycamore Sid" helped earn the group a reputation for being one of the more intriguing- and most elusive- UK bands of the sixties. Yet nothing more was heard from Focal Point until 2002, when two previously unreleased tracks recorded at the same session as their Deram single appeared on the compilation CD 94 Baker Street which features artists who were signed to The Beatles' Apple Music Publishing company. Both, "Never Never" and "Girl on the corner" confirmed that "Sycamore Sid" was no fluke and that Fcal Point were perharps one of the great lost English pop groups of the 60's.

Since then, Paul Tennant, Dave Slater and Tim Wells of Focal Point have scoured lofts and basements across England in an effort to uncover tracks that were recorded during Focal Point's 1967-1968 heyday but were misplaced during ensuing decades. First Bite of The Apple represents the fruit of their labours. In addition to the four songs recorded for Deram in early 1968, First Bite of The Apple includes a number of tracks that were recorded independently at an 8-track studio in Manchester in late 1968.
by Stefan Granados

1. Miss Sinclair - 2:29
2. Sycamore Sid - 2:39
3. Hassle Castle - 3:39
4. Never Never - 3:27
5. Lonely Woman - 3:31
6. Far Away From Forever - 3:42
7. Love You Forever - 2:56
8. Tales From The GPO Files - 2:19
9. McKinnley Morgan The Deep Sea Diver - 3:10
10.Falling Out Of Friends (Paul Tennant, Dave Slater, Tim Wells) - 3:29
11.Girl On The Corner - 2:22
12.Goodbye Forever (Dave Slater, Paul Tennant, Tim Wells) - 2:29
13.This Time She's Leaving (Dave Slater, Paul Tennant, Tim Wells) - 3:22
14.'Cept Me - 2:28
15.Miss Sinclair (Demo) - 2:38
16.Miss Sinclair (Alternate Version) - 2:57
17.Hassle Castle (Demo) - 3:02
18.Never Never (Alternate Version) - 3:04
19.Reflections (Demo) - 2:54
20.Reflections - 2:59
All songs by Paul Tennant and Dave Rhodes except where noted.

Focal Point
*Paul Tennant - Vocals, Guitar
*Dave Rhodes - Guitar, Vocals
*Neil MacDonald - Guitar, Backing Vocals
*Dave Slater - Bass
*Ray Gobin - Drums
*Dave Hardbattle - Drums, Backing Vocals
*Tim Wells - Keyboards
*Lionel Morton - Vocals
*Cosmo - Guitar
*Ted Hesketh - Drums

[ Rip and Scans by MARIOS ]
Click here

No comments:

Post a Comment