Tuesday, August 30, 2011

ZZ Top - Rio Grande Mud - (1972 Hard blues - Vinyl Rip with the original sound - Wave audio format)

This is a vinyl rip of original album, to replace previous version of CD, where the mix was changed (Echo + building exaggerated of the bass drum & some drum machine) from the album (vinyl) original, in order to approximate the sound of albums like Eliminator or newer Afterburner . With disastrous result !!!


"Rio Grande Mud", ZZ Top's second album, has a disturbingly clean-shaven Billy Gibbons on the back of the inlay card, but otherwise everything is like you would expect it.

"Rio Grande Mud" opens with one of its best songs, the groovy "Francine", sung by bassist Dusty Hill.

The rough "Just Got Paid" is sort of an uptempo blues, and Billy Gibbons plays some fine harmonica on the excellent "Mushmouth Shoutin'" (a blatant ripoff of Rice Miller's classic "Crazy 'Bout You Baby", recorded by everyone from Muddy Waters to Lightnin' Slim).

Other highlights include the pile-driving boogie "Bar-B-Q" and the slide guitar-instrumental "Apologies To Pearly", but there aren't any real "lowlights" on "Rio Grande Mud", actually....everything is worth a listen, even if some songs are slightly less memorable than others.

A great blues-rock album...one that shows just what an excellent guitarist Billy Gibbons is, and one of ZZ Top's best efforts.(By Docendo Discimus)


With Tres Hombres a close second, I regard Rio Grande Mud as ZZ Top's Best album. Three songs in particular elevate this album above the rest. 'Aplogies to Pearly' a funky little instrumental piece that showcases Billy Gibbons's excellent slide work. From there we fade right into 'Bar-B-Q', an up-tempo blues rock burner, with some fiery lead guitar passages. Third is the haunting 'Sure Got Cold After the Rain Fell', an absolutely mesmerizing slow blues number that swells in the final passages to great effect, on the heels of Billy's masterful guitar work. Throw in 'Just Got Paid', 'Ko Ko Blue', 'Whiskey'n Mama' and the rest, and you've got one of the classic blues-rock albums of all time. An album that solidified Billy Gibbons as one of the tastiest guitarists ever, and demonstrates the early fire and inventiveness of this young band, before their commercial blandness took over. If you're a ZZ Top Fan, this album is a must-have.(By Dan Skorseth)

ZZ Top - Just Got Paid - 1972 original vinyl mix

Tracks List

01. Francine

02. Just Got Paid

03. Mushmouth Shoutin'

04. Ko Ko Blue

05. Chevrolet

06. Apologies To Pearly

07. Bar-B-Q

08. Sure Got Cold After The Rain Fell

09. Whiskey' N Mama

10. Down Brownie


Billy Gibbons - Lead Guitar, Slide Guitar, Harmonica, Vocals

Dusty Hill - Bass Guitar, Vocals on "Francine" & "Chevrolet"

Frank Beard - Drums

[Rip and scans by SILVERADO]

Click here

No comments:

Post a Comment