Tuesday, August 16, 2011

A Band Called O - A Band Called O - (1974 Uk classic rock blended progressive rock - Vinyl rip - Wave audio format )

A Band Called O were a band from Jersey, Channel Islands. Originally known as "The Parlour Band", playing progressive rock, they renamed to "A Band Called O" for two albums on CBS/Epic and later to "The O Band" for a further albums with UA. Despite issuing five albums, on three major labels, and being championed by John Peel, for whom they recorded four Peel Sessions, they had no chart success; but were a popular live act, who toured Britain and Europe.

Formed in Jersey, Channel Islands, circa 1970, as "The Parlour Band", the early line up comprised brothers Mark Anders (bass and vocals) and Craig Anders (lead guitar and vocals) with Peter Filleul (keyboards and vocals) formerly of the Climax Blues Band , John “Pix” Pickford (guitar and vocals) and Jerry Robbins (drums). Released in 1972, The Parlour Band's only album Is a Friend?, was produced by Nick Tauber in a melodic progressive rock style, sounding like a "more mainstream, less art-rock-inclined Yes" with strong keyboard and guitar parts.The Parlour Band toured supporting Caravan and Steve Hillage’s Khan.

A Band Called O

They relocated from Jersey to Leicester, changed their name to "A Band Called O", and their drummer to Derek Ballard. This line-up released their first album on the Epic label, produced by Ben Sidran of the Steve Miller Band, and Chris White of the Zombies. A Band Called O (1974) and, despite being an album orientated band, a single "Rock and Roll Clown"/"Red Light Mama Red Hot" was released in Germany while they recorded the first of four Peel Sessions on 24 September 1974. They recorded their second Peel Session on 18 March 1975, before touring with Man and John Cipollina. Later that year, they released their second album, Oasis. They had one track "There Ain't Nothing I Wouldn't Do" on a single to promote their tour with Sassafras and Randy Pie as the "Hot On The Tracks" package.

Filleul left and was replaced by Ian Lynne, after about 6 months he was also replaced by Jeff Bannister, formerly with the John Barry Seven, The Alan Bown Set and Jess Roden’s Bronco.[8] The band changed label from CBS/Epic to United Artists, played their third Peel Session on 23 March 1976 and released their third album Within Reach later that year.[9] A promotional single "Excerpts from Within Reach" was issued in the UK whilst two singles were taken from the album: "A Smile Is Diamond" / "Coasting" was issued in Germany, and "Don't cha Wanna" /"Coasting" in the UK. They played their fourth and final Peel Session on 22 February 1977.


01 Red Light Mama Red Hot - 6:20

02 Angelica - 3:41

03 Helping Hand - 3:38

04 Lady Beatrice - 3:55

05 Ride, Ride, Ride - 3:12

06 Rock Roll Clown - 3:38

07 All I Need - 2:02

08 Get Funky - 3:30

09 Captain Cellophane / Sidewalk Ship - 12:00


Pix - Vocals, Guitar

Derek Ballard - Drums

Peter Filleul - Electric Piano, Vocals

Mark Anders - Bass Guitar

Craig Anders - Guitar, Slide Guitar

[Rip and Scans by SILVERADO]

Click here

No comments:

Post a Comment