Monday, August 1, 2011

Estes Brothers - Transitions (1971 us hard/psychedelic blues rock, 2002 reissue - MP3 320K and FLAC)

A long time in coming, but well worth to wait. This album contains the first efforts of a group that endured all the changes of the fast changing music scene.

I personally feel they have made all necessary transitions. Not only does the album contain beautiful slow type ballads, but it moves easily into Hard Rock in grand fashion.

Each member of the "Estes Brothers" puts forth fantastic energy and drive into each number and everyone gets his own style across in the last cut.

Lead guitarist, John Estes, and drummer, Joe Estes, have been together for as long as brothers can be. Don Smith and Bill Marren have both paid their dues in different groups.

We hope you take the album, relax and get right into the music. Share it with a friend! I feel this is only the beginning of some great music that will be hearing from the "Estes Brothers".

Anyone lucky enough to have heard the group perform will notice a definite change in their live music. This is an indication of varied talents each member possesses. In this, their first album, each of them has one of his own original numbers included.

This is advantageous as they do not depend solely upon one member for their material. Is it any wonder, with this type of attitude and talent, fame is predicted for the "Estes Brothers!"
(Milan R. Relic, Edcom Productions) 1971

The Estes Brothers are from a family of 7 brothers and 5 sisters. The beginning of Estes Bros. was late Bro. Bill on vocals and harmonica, Jerry keyboards, John guitar and late Bro. Joe on drums with Richard managing the band in 1966.

From 1966 till present there has been 38 different members and numerous styles of music, but always leading back to Blues and Rock.

At present, the band line up is Jerry as original member on keyboards and bass, John also original member on guitar, Jerry's son Brian, on drums and vocals, and our great friend and guitarist Dennis Caldwell.

When the album was done Jerry was in the army from 1969-71, but recorded on Tomorrow's Sunlight / Yesterdays Blues, Joe was 14, Jerry 15 and John 18, Fred Hauker played bass - the recording took 3 hrs! We wrote the songs on the way to the studio.

The album cost 500 Dollars to record and we only had 1 song written plus at that time Bill Marren had about 3 songs. It took 8 hrs of jamming and partying. Only one song "Wooden Thoughts" was rehearsed. And 100 demo copies were made.

"First CD-Reissue of US Hard/Blues-Psychedelic masterpiece recorded in Ohio 1971, an original lp is near impossible to find (only 100 pressed). The music is outstanding gutsy bluesy hard rock mixed with "THAT" lysergic blend of those late sixties S.F. bands like Quicksilver Messenger Service & Mad River - contains 8 bonus tracks (home and live recordings), informative booklet, original front cover and a couple of great & unseen photos. One of the best US psychedelic hard rock albums ever!"

Estes Brothers - Never Coming Down

Track list:
01. Never Coming Down (03':34")
02. This Morning (09':22")
03. Wooden Thoughts (04':54")
04. Do What Is Real (05':19")
05. Let Me Live My Own Life (06':10")
06. Gary's Thought (06':02")
07. Tomorrow's Sunlight [Single Version] (02':14")
08. On The Wings Of A Butterfly (03':45")
09. Love Is All I Need (04':04")
10. Tomorrow's Sunlight (02':46")
11. Wooden Thoughts (04':54")
12. All Along The Watchtower (06':39")
13. Blue Skies (04':05")
14. Woman (06':22")

The album (tracks 1-6) was recorded at Edcom Productions, Cleveland, 1971.
Tracks 8-11 were recorded live.
Tracks 12-14 were recorded at home.

Estes Brothers:
*John Estes - lead guitar
*Joe Estes - drums
*Bill Marren - piano, vocals
*Don Smith - bass

[ Thank you NELWIZARD for sending this post ]
CODE: 59497 or Click here(password is code_number+phrockblog)

No comments:

Post a Comment