Saturday, June 18, 2011

The Open Mind - The Open Mind (1969 uk great psychedelic and heavy psych included rare 04 tracks from 45' singles releases - MP3 320K and FLAC)

The band was formed in the mid 1960s by four musicians from Putney, South London. Initially named The Drag Set, they released a little-known single in February 1967, "Day and Night"/"Get Out of My Way".

Shortly thereafter, they changed their name to The Open Mind and in July 1969 released a self-titled LP which has since become a highly sought-after collectible. This band produced one of the finest UK psychedelic albums, which is excellent throughout and hardly contains a bad track. The music is characterised by some particularly strong psychedelic guitar work and good vocals.

It's impossible really to pull-out particular tracks as highlights - they're almost all equally good. Fortunately this album was re-released and this has made this classic piece of 60’s Freakbeat much more accessible to collectors of 60’s psychedelia.

The reissue includes their second rare 45 release, which unlike the first wasn't taken from the album and is superb. A blistering 45 with tasty psychedelic fuzz guitar work.

The band, however, is best known for its druggy August 1969 single, "Magic Potion", which did not appear on the album but included in this CD release.

1. Dear Louise
2. Try Another Day
3. I Feel the Same Way Too
4. My Mind Cries
5. Can't You See?
6. Thor the Thunder God
7. Horses and Chariots
8. Before My Time
9. Free as the Breeze
10. Girl I'm So Alone
11. Soul and My Will
12. Falling Again
13. Magic Potion [*]
14. Cast a Spell [*]
15. Day and Night [*]
16. Get out of My Way [*]
[*] 45' single releases

The Open Mind
*Mike Brancaccio - Guitar, Vocals
*Timothy De Feu - Bass
*Phil Fox - Drums
*Terry Martin - Guitar, Vocals
*Jon Anderson briefly sang in the band but left before the recordings to form Yes.

After friendly request I decided to re-post The Open Mind (for 3rd time)

[ Rip and Scans by MARIOS ]
Previous posted at PHROCK couple of years ago
CODE: 33003 or click here (password is code_number+phrockblog)

No comments:

Post a Comment