Thursday, June 30, 2011

Genesis - The Early Days Of Genesis (1967-69 uk, post psychedelia, progressive rock, double disc 2008 edition - MP3 320k and FLAC)

There was a school in Surrey, England named Charterhouse. Attending this school there were two students named Tony Banks and Peter Gabriel. The two both had a love for music which caused them to form a band called The Garden Wall.

A nearby group named The Anon. Formed by Riverz Job (bass), Richard MacPhail (vocals), Anthony Phillips (guitar), and Rob Tyrell (drums). Later join by Mike Rutherford, The Anon was The Garden Wall's main competition.

The Charterhouse arranged a concert in 1967 that featured both The Garden Wall and The Anon. The Garden Wall stole the show away from The Anon (who were the concert's main feature. After this more than half The Anon left the band leaving Anthony Phillips and Mike Rutherford. Phillips and Rutherford went to their rivals and formed a new band. They later were joined by drummer Chris Stewart.

This new band put together a demo tape which they sent to producer Jonathan King (who was an ex-student of The Charterhouse). He liked this band's music so much and since they didn't have a name yet he gave them one: Genesis. In 1968 Stewart left Genesis. John Silver came in as Stewart's replacement

In 1969 they released their first album titled 'From Genesis To Revelation'. The album was only released in the UK. To put it nicely, the album was a bomb. It sold less then seven hundred copies. Part of the album's lack of success can be contributed to the fact that the album was thought to be Christian.

After this, Genesis went inactive in order to get out of it's one year contract with King (who thought their new music lacked). After a year, Genesis was free of King and Silver (who wanted to stay with King).In March of 1970, Genesis met John Anthony who signed them with Charisma-Records.

This is actually their first album release "From Genesis To Revelation", (with few bonus tracks from the 1967-1969 period and some new remixes from 2006) a magma of British post psychdelia with progressive touches, it has nothing common with their later recordings except for the musicians, it is more earthy, more accessible, however it is fascinating, the velvet voices along with beautiful melodies, creating colourful ribbons, leaving finally a sweet taste ...

1. Where the Sour Turns to Sweet - 3:16
2. In the Beginning - 3:47
3. Fireside Song - 4:20
4. The Serpent - 4:40
5. Am I Very Wrong? - 3:33
6. In the Wilderness - 3:33
7. The Conqueror - 3:42
8. In Hiding - 2:40
9. One Day - 3:22
10.Window - 3:35
11.In Limbo - 3:32
12.Silent Sun - 2:15

1. A Place to Call My Own - 2:00
2. A Winter's Tale - 3:31
3. One-Eyed Hound - 2:31
4. That's Me - 2:38
5. Image Blown Out - 2:11
6. She is Beautiful - 3:46
7. Try a Little Sadness (Demo Version) - 3:18
8. Patricia (Demo Version of 'In Hiding') - 3:05
9. Where The Sour Turns To Sweet (2006 remix) - 3:19
10.The Silent Sun (2006 remix) - 2:15
11.In The Wilderness (Rough Mix) - 2:57

Genesis 1967-69
*Peter Gabriel – Vocals, Flute, Percussion
*Anthony Phillips – Guitar, Vocals
*Tony Banks – Organ, Guitar, Piano, Keyboards, Vocals
*Mike Rutherford – Bass Guitar, Guitar, Vocals
*John Silver – Drums, Vocals
*Chris Stewart – Drums on "Silent Sun"

[ Rip and Scans by MARIOS ]
CODE: 58687 or click here (password is code_number+phrockblog)

No comments:

Post a Comment