Thursday, June 16, 2011

Truk - Truk Tracks (1971 us, hard rock, heavy psych, 2008 remaster - MP3 320k and FLAC)

Truk hailed from Oklahoma, their sound was a high energy Hard Rock magma punctuated with stunning heavy organ, some acoustic melodic passages and few little glamour glimpses, they did also an interesting cover of Gun's " Yellow Cab man".

Truk obviously had a pretty strong affinity for the trailblazing trudge of titans like Cream, and the powerful, messy drunken genius of early Guess Who.It's the kind of record where the drums and electric guitar crunch buries the sound right into the middle of your chest when it's played loud enough.

The sound was surely found at a dime-a-dozen in '71, but they sure don't make them like this today! 10 tracks, including "Country Woman", "Got To Find A Reason", "Pretty Lady", "Yellow Cab Man", "Silence Ending", "Max", "Sun Castle Magic" and more."

"Truk Traks" Album cover picture shot at the East-West Truck Terminal in Orange County during a strike by the Teamsters. The L. A. P. D. was called by the security dude, who was not told we had permission to shoot the pictures.

In 1973 Glenn Townsend (Guitars, Vocals) resurfaced with Johnny Rivers and later Willy Daffern played with the reformation of Captain Beyond. "Dewey Martin produced Truk and later became a mechanic. In the late '70s he also played sessions on a Hoyt Axton album.

Buddy Emmons kept on recording hundreds of country sessions, Harvey Kegan rejoined Doug Sahm and Augie Meyer, and Steve Lefever became a session man, notably with Alexander Harvey. Darnell, Bradstreet and Alden are currently playing in country-rock outfit The Electric Range."

1. Country Woman - 4:29
2. Got To Find A Reason - 3:02
3. Pretty Lady - 3:56
4. Winter's Coming On - 2:46
5. Sun Castle Magic - 5:12
6. Yellow Cab Man - 3:01
7. Five Is Together - 3:41
8. You - 4:02
9. Silence Ending - 2:43
10.Max - 3:52

*J. Martin (Moby) Anderson - Bass, Vocals
*Danny Cornett - Drums, Vocals (original drummer)
*Bill (Willie) Daffern - Drums, Vocals (on last 4 songs , lead vocal on "Winter's Coming On")
*George Michael (Mike) Graham - Lead Vocals
*James Patrick (Pat) Graham - Organ, Vocals
*Glenn Ray Townsend - Guitar, Vocals

[ Rip and Scans by MARIOS ]
Previous posted at PHROCK on Sunday, March 08, 2009
CODE: 57580 or click here (password is code_number+phrockblog)

No comments:

Post a Comment